Bury Council

Bury is a Labour-Party controlled Council and covers the towns of Bury, Ramsbottom, Tottington, Radcliffe, Prestwich and Whitefield.  It serves a population of 186,000 people (82,000 households).

The Council has a current budget of £457 million (predominantly from Government grants, Council Tax and Business Rates) which it spends on 113 different service areas including roads and footpaths, refuse collection, libraries and parks, adult care etc.

Approximately 3,400 full time equivalent staff work for Bury Council (excluding teaching staff in Schools).

The Council is directed by a Cabinet consisting of senior local Councillors.  Its decisions are reviewed by the Council’s Overview and Scrutiny Committee and Health Scrutiny Committee.

The Council also has a Planning Committee and Licensing Committee.

There are 51 Councillors in total – three from each ward – including Ramsbottom.

Currently there are:

  • Labour: 29 Councillors
  • Conservative: 16 Councillors
  • Liberal Democrat: 4 Councillors
  • Independents: 2 Councillors