Results of the Ramsbottom Council Election – 22 May 2014

At the Election Count at Castle Leisure Centre, Bury

At the Election Count at Castle Leisure Centre, Bury

The result of Thursday’s local election in Ramsbottom was as follows:-

Ramsbottom Ward
Candidates Party Votes polled
David Barker UK Independence Party 574
Ian Bevan Conservative 1710
Mary D’Albert Liberal Democrat 33
Glyn Heath Green 115
Sarah Southworth Labour 1206

Turnout: 40.55%. Outcome: Conservative hold.  Majority: 504

I want to say a very big thank you to my wife and family for their support and understanding during the campaign; my volunteers for their tireless work on my behalf – especially Cllr Rob Hodkinson; and everyone in Ramsbottom for their support at the ballot box and their kind words on my re-election as one of Ramsbottom’s local Councillors.

I would also like to thank my opponents, for a hard fought and good natured campaign.

You know, being independent-minded, that I will always put Ramsbottom first.

Thank you.